Monday, August 31, 2009

When the Rain Comes They Run and Hide Their Heads...

Or, if they're me, they hike across campus with an umbrella that is forever turning inside out 'cause it's windy... Note: In NY when it comes to street vendors and little convenience shop owners, the price of an umbrella is directly proportional to the amount of rain that is falling from the sky at that given time. The quality however, remains at a constant low.

Anyways, one class down, two to go. It would've been two down, but I don't count going in, sitting down, being handed the syllabus, and told to leave 'cause out professor isn't there...

Philosophy is, um, interesting? My professor is a strange little man who was acting like he was terrified of us... But maybe it'll be better on Wednesday.

And it's interesting how many people I've seen that I know. People from Catholic last year, people from Catholic who graduated several years ago, people from FSI. The exchanging of niceties with these people is mad awkward though.

Oh well... College for the most part is working out quite well for me at the moment. =)

Sunday, August 30, 2009

The black person, and the white person, and the Asian person, and the ethnically ambiguous person...

So, freshman convocation was today. It was rather lame, save for the keynote speaker who ran a little long, but had an overall really good speech. (See headline quote...)

But anyways, I was under the impression that I am to be a freshman in college tomorrow, not one in high school. THEREFORE, I was severely irked by the fact that everyone around me decided they needed to act like freshmen.
I do not CARE what party you went to last night that was broken up by the cops shortly after you left, I do not CARE how many times you've gotten wasted since move-in, I do not CARE that some girls invited you to their room but weren't there when you showed up, and, while I'm aware that this event wasn't exactly in your top 5 fun things to do the night before classes start (believe me, it wasn't in mine), I DO care that you weren't courteous enough to put away your cell phones and pay attention to the speaker (and not the person next to you) for 45 minutes. It's rude.
*Sigh*
But I digress. Hopefully tomorrow I'll be in some HONORS classes with some HONORS-type people who care a little more. And wear more clothing than I saw some girls wearing today (that's pretty impressive that you got that shirt to stretch that far and STAY there though...)
Meh. That's Lauren being self-righteous for the evening.

Saturday, August 29, 2009

If All My Friends Decided To Jump Off A Bridge...

I'd end up in the water too, but I'd probably be dragging them out...

Okay, folding to peer pressure, Lauren has gotten a Blogspot. What do I intend to do with it? I don't know. Come on here when I'm bored (like right now, I've been at Catholic for uhhhh, 13 1/2 hours as of now... I'm listening to the revival going on in the theater which is drowning out Paul McCartney...Sadness.)

So yeah. A little background, which is completely pointless, since the only two people I know that would be interested in this already KNOW EVERYTHING that I'm about to put down.
I'm a recently graduated BSCHS student who's off to college at ODU in two days. I work at the Barry Robinson Theater and Fine Arts Center taking care of the groups who feel the need to come perform on our stage. I have a thing for Brits, one in particular who is old enough to be my grandfather, but I digress. I'm always up for late-night adventures around Norfolk (which is SKETCH, I realize) with my best friends. I love that I have best friends. I think that the Beatles are the best band ever and that anyone who disagrees should fall off the planet. My friends and I have so many quotable moments that we could write a book. Which we SHOULD. I love to cook, sew, go shopping at thrift stores, and I'm a Fair Trade advocate. I went to the best concert of my life over the summer. I'm probably one of the easiest-going people you'll ever meet. I like to plan things. Like suprise parties. To which I ship my friend's out-of-town-boyfriends. It bugs me that I don't HAVE a boyfriend (sorry Fred, you don't count, being imaginary and all...) but that's okay. And now that I have bored y'all with my inane ramblings, I shall sign off to write another day...

Peace out y'all!!

PS I think it's possible that this show could be over...Soon. Praise JAYSUS! (Sorry, politically incorrect, I'm aware...)